Basic facts about Tanzania


United Republic of Tanzania is the largest nation in East Africa, both in terms of  land area and population. It is located in Eastern Africa between longitude 290 and 410 East and Latitude 10 and 120 South. It shares its borders with eight neighboring countries which include; Burundi, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Uganda, Zambia and the Democratic Republic of Congo. In the eastern side is the Indian Ocean with a 1,424 km coastline. Its strategic location makes it as an important hub in the east and central Africa region.

The United Republic of Tanzania has a population of about 55 Million (2018 World Bank.) covering a total area of 945,087 including 61,000 of water. Tanzania’s population has been growing at a rate of 2.9% annually.


Tanzania has a tropical climate which is divided into four main climatic zones namely: hot humid coastal plain; hot, semi-arid zone of the central plateau; high-moist lake regions; and temperate highland areas.


Tanzania culture depicts broad range of culture diversity, with more than 120 local languages  and ethnic groups with varied cultural practices, Tanzania has been described as one of the most diverse countries in Africa. Swahili is the national language that is widely spoken throughout the country. To some extent Tanzania culture has been influenced by African, Arab, European and Indian interactions which are historical in nature. Apart from the main Swahili language, English is the official language of education; administration and business.

Natural resources

Tanzania is endowed with wide range of natural resources; it has deposits of oil and gas, uranium, coals, gold, diamonds, ruby and precious Tanzanite which is available only in Tanzania. Almost 30% of its land mass is under conservation. There are large National Parks, Game Reserves and Marine Parks. The parks include the Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Ruaha, others are the Selous Game Reserve. Tanzania is the home to the famous Mt. Kilimanjaro the higher standalone mountain in Africa.